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STATE OF WISCONSIN

Division of Hearings and Appeals

PRELIMINARY RECITALS

Pursuant to a petition filed December 29, 2015, under Wis. Admin. Code § HA 3.03(4), to review a

decision by the Milwaukee Enrollment Services in regard to FoodShare benefits (FS), a telephonic

hearing was held on January 28, 2016.

The issue for determination is whether the agency met its burden to show that it correctly discontinued

petitioner’s FS for failing to meet Able-Bodied Adult without Dependent (ABAWD) work requirements

effective January 1, 2016.

There appeared at that time and place the following persons:

 PARTIES IN INTEREST:

Petitioner: 

 

 

Respondent:

Department of Health Services

1 West Wilson Street, Room 651

Madison, Wisconsin 53703

By: , IM Specialist Adv.

Milwaukee Enrollment Services

1220 W Vliet St, Room 106

Milwaukee, WI  53205

 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE:

 Kelly Cochrane

 Division of Hearings and Appeals

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioner (CARES # ) is a resident of Milwaukee County.

2. On September 30, 2015 petitioner applied for FS.
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3. On October 2, 2015 the agency issued a FSET referral letter to petitioner.  See Exhibit 7.  His

“begin month” was October.

4. On October 2, 2015, the agency issued a letter to petitioner entitled “Action Required: FSET


Initial Appointment Scheduled”.  See Exhibit 2.  The letter stated that the petitioner was

scheduled for October 12, 2015 for an FSET appointment.  Petitioner failed to make this

appointment.

5. On October 14, 2015 the agency issued a letter to petitioner entitled “Action Required: FSET


Initial Appointment Scheduled”.  See Exhibit 3.  The petitioner was scheduled for October 22,

2015 for an FSET appointment.  Petitioner failed to make this appointment.

6. On October 27, 2015 the agency issued another letter to petitioner entitled “Action Required:


FSET Initial Appointment Scheduled”.  See Exhibit 4.  The petitioner was scheduled for

November 3, 2015 for an FSET appointment.  Petitioner failed to make this appointment.

7. On November 5, 2015 the agency issued another letter to petitioner entitled “Action Required:


FSET Initial Appointment Scheduled”.  See Exhibit 5.  The petitioner was scheduled for

November 12, 2015 for an FSET appointment.  Petitioner failed to make this appointment.

8. On December 18, 2015 the agency issued a notice of decision to petitioner stating that his FS

would end January 1, 2016 because he had used 3 months of time limited benefits (TLBs) without

meeting a work requirement during those 3 months.  See Exhibit 1.

DISCUSSION

Pursuant to a provision of Wisconsin’s 2007-2009 biennial budget, Wisconsin has operated a voluntary

FoodShare Employment and Training (FSET) program since 2008.  The Personal Responsibility and

Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA) limits the receipt of FS benefits to three full

months in a 36-month time period for Able-Bodied Adults without Dependents (ABAWDs) who do not

meet the work requirement or meet an exemption from the work requirement. As part of Wisconsin’s


2014-15 biennial budget, 2013 Wisconsin Act 20 created Wis. Stat. §49.79(10), which required FS

eligibility and work requirements for ABAWDs to be implemented in Wisconsin beginning in 2014,

consistent with federal regulations 7 CFR §273.7 and 7 CFR §273.24.

Under ABAWD rules, childless, able-bodied adults must either meet ABAWD work requirements or be

exempt from the work requirement in order to receive FoodShare (FS) benefits.  See FS Handbook

§3.17.1.1, available online at http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/fsh/fsh.htm.  ABAWDs who are

not exempt and who do not meet the work requirement are only allowed to receive 3 full months of time-

limited benefits (TLBs) in a 36-month period.  Id.  

A person is considered an ABAWD, if that person does not meet the NON-ABAWD status:

NON-ABAWD: A FoodShare applicant or member is determined a non-ABAWD if he

or she meets any one of the following criteria, as determined by the IM agency:

 Under age 18* or age 50** and older;

 Unable to work;

 Residing in a FoodShare household with a child under age 18***; or

 Pregnant.

http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/fsh/fsh.htm
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*Age 18:  ABAWD status applies the month following the month the FS recipient or

applicant turns age 18.

**Age 50: ABAWD status is lost the first day of the month an ABAWD turns age 50.

*** Individuals who reside with and are included in the same food unit as a child under

age 18 are non-ABAWDs, even if that child is ineligible for FoodShare. See section

3.3.1.1 for food unit requirements).

Non-ABAWDs are not subject to time-limited FS benefits (TLBs).

Note: Individuals who are coded as out of the home, including children placed in foster

care and out of home tax dependents and co-filers, do not make an individual a non-

ABAWD.

…

See FS Handbook, §3.17.1.4.

An ABAWD may be exempt from work requirements if the person:

1. Is determined unfit for employment, which includes someone who is:

a. Receiving temporary or permanent disability benefits from the government or a private

source;

b. Mentally or physically unable to work, as determined by the IM agency;

c. Verified as unable to work by a statement from a health care professional or social worker;

2. Is responsible for the care of a child under age 6 or caring for an incapacitated person, either

of which live outside the home;

3. Is receiving Unemployment Compensation (UC), or has applied for UC and is complying

with UC work requirements;

4. Is regularly participating in an alcohol or other drug addiction (AODA) treatment or

rehabilitation program;

5. Is a student of higher education and is otherwise eligible for FS (3.15.1);

6. Is a full-time high school student age 18 or over;

7. Is receiving Transitional FS benefits; or

8. Is meeting the ABAWD work requirement.

See FS Handbook, §3.17.1.5.

An ABAWD meets the ABAWD work requirement if one of the following applies:

1. Working a minimum of 80 hours per month. Use converted work hours if paid weekly or bi-

weekly;

2. Participating and complying with an allowable work program at least 80 hours per month; *

[includes FSET]

3. Both working and participating in an allowable work program for a combined total of at least

80 hours per month; or

4. Participating and complying with the requirements of a workfare program.

FS Handbook, §3.17.1.7.

If not exempt from work requirements each FS household member must register for work at the time of

application and review.  FS Handbook, §3.16.1.4.

http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/fsh/policy_files/3/3-3-1.htm#3.3.1.1_HUG_(Households,_Units,_Groups)
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/fsh/policy_files/3/3-15-1.htm
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Petitioner did not deny his lack of participation in FSET, but testified that he did not receive some of the

written notices that were mailed to him at his address of record.  The FSET agency appeared and testified

about the referral and appointment notices that were mailed to his address of record, as well as follow ups

with phone calls.  The phone calls made by the agency were never able to connect with the petitioner as

the message when the number was called said the phone was disconnected.  The petitioner testified that

he probably had a new telephone number that he did not report to the agency.  The FSET agency and the

county have met their burden of proof to show that they sent the relevant notices to petitioner’s correct


address of record.

Petitioner also testified at hearing that he had been working during the TLBs and in AODA.  He agreed

neither of these facts were reported to the agency.  Petitioner was allowed to provide proof of those facts

post-hearing however.  Unfortunately for petitioner, the work information shows that he only worked a

total of 55.50 hours for November.  In order to meet the work requirement, he must work a minimum of

80 hours, or cooperate with FSET, or both.  See FS Handbook, §3.17.1.1.  Further, the AODA

information shows that he was discharged on December 7, 2015 because he was no longer compliant with

the AODA attendance policy, as he only attended 2 appointments in November 2015.   The FS policy

states that he must be regularly participating in an AODA treatment program.  See FS Handbook,

§3.17.1.5 (emphasis added).  Since he was not regularly participating he would not have met that

requirement either.  Finally, petitioner testified that he was unaware of his reporting requirements.

However, when he applied for FS, his reporting requirements were set forth, his exemptions from the

work requirement were set forth, and signature on the application is checked for acknowledging his rights

and responsibilities.  See Exhibit 8.

In the end, the agency did what it was supposed to do – mail the notices to his address of record on file

with the agency.  It attempted to follow up with phone calls, but the petitioner changed his number and

did not advise the agency.  The agency issued his FS for the three TLBs and he failed to meet the work

requirement.  Accordingly, I must find that he has exhausted his TLBs and the agency acted correctly in

terminating his FS.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The agency met its burden to show that it correctly discontinued petitioner’s FS for failing to meet

ABAWD work requirements effective January 1, 2016.

THEREFORE, it is ORDERED

The petition for review herein is dismissed.

REQUEST FOR A REHEARING

You may request a rehearing if you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts or the law

or if you have found new evidence that would change the decision.  Your request must be received

within 20 days after the date of this decision.  Late requests cannot be granted.

Send your request for rehearing in writing to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, 5005 University

Avenue, Suite 201, Madison, WI 53705-5400 and to those identified in this decision as "PARTIES IN

INTEREST."  Your rehearing request must explain what mistake the Administrative Law Judge made and

why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and explain why you did not have it at your

first hearing.  If your request does not explain these things, it will be denied.
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The process for requesting a rehearing may be found at Wis. Stat. § 227.49.  A copy of the statutes may

be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

APPEAL TO COURT

You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live.  Appeals must be filed

with the Court and served either personally or by certified mail on the Secretary of the Department of

Health Services, 1 West Wilson Street, Room 651, Madison, Wisconsin 53703, and on those identified in

this decision as “PARTIES IN INTEREST” no more than 30 days after the date of this decision or 30

days after a denial of a timely rehearing (if you request one).

The process for Circuit Court Appeals may be found at Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53. A copy of the

statutes may be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

  Given under my hand at the City of Milwaukee,

Wisconsin, this 12th day of February, 2016

  \sKelly Cochrane

  Administrative Law Judge

Division of Hearings and Appeals
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State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

Brian Hayes, Administrator Telephone: (608) 266-3096
Suite 201 FAX: (608) 264-9885
5005 University Avenue 
Madison, WI   53705-5400 

email: DHAmail@wisconsin.gov  
Internet: http://dha.state.wi.us

The preceding decision was sent to the following parties on February 12, 2016.

Milwaukee Enrollment Services

Division of Health Care Access and Accountability

http://dha.state.wi.us

