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STATE OF WISCONSIN

Division of Hearings and Appeals

PRELIMINARY RECITALS

Pursuant to a petition filed January 5, 2016, under Wis. Admin. Code, §HA 3.03(4), to review a decision

by Milwaukee Enrollment Services to discontinue FoodShare benefits (FS), a hearing was held on

February 3, 2016, by telephone.

The issue for determination is whether petitioner complied with FS work program requirements.

 PARTIES IN INTEREST:

Petitioner: 

  

 

 

Respondent:

Department of Health Services

1 West Wilson Street, Room 651

Madison, Wisconsin 53703

      By: 

Milwaukee Enrollment Services

1220 W. Vliet Street

Milwaukee, WI  53205

 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE:

 Brian C. Schneider

 Division of Hearings and Appeals

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioner (CARES # ) is a resident of Milwaukee County.

2. Petitioner applied for FS as a one-person household in August, 2015, and she began to receive

maximum FS of $194 monthly beginning in September. She did not report that she was disabled

or otherwise unable to work. She was referred to the FS Employment and Training program

(FSET) on September 23, 2015.
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3. Petitioner enrolled in the FSET program on October 29, 2015 after missing earlier orientation

appointments. She reported that she intended to enroll at  in criminal justice in January,

2016. She was assigned to 20 hours per week employment search, “Road Maps,” and WorkFare.

4. Petitioner did not attend Road Maps or WorkFare. She turned in one job contact in November and

six in December (one job contact is considered to be one assigned hour). She later signed an

employability plan to attend ResCare, a training program, but she did not verify attendance at the

program.

5. By a notice dated December 18, 2015, the agency informed petitioner that FS would end January

1, 2016 because her three-month time limited benefits were ending.

DISCUSSION

Pursuant to a provision of Wisconsin’s 2007-2009 biennial budget, Wisconsin has operated a voluntary

FoodShare Employment and Training (FSET) program since 2008. The Personal Responsibility and

Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA) limits the receipt of FS benefits to three full

months in a 36-month time period for Able-Bodied Adults without Dependents (ABAWDs) who do not

meet the work requirement or meet an exemption from the work requirement. As part of Wisconsin’s


2014-15 biennial budget, 2013 Wisconsin Act 20 created Wis. Stat., §49.79(10), which mandated FS

eligibility and work requirements for ABAWDs to be implemented in Wisconsin beginning in 2014,

consistent with federal regulations 7 CFR §273.7 and 7 CFR §273.24. The program began in Milwaukee

County effective April 1, 2015, and FS recipients were required to meet the requirements beginning with

the next FS application or review completed after April 1, 2015. FS Handbook, §3.17.1.2.

Under Wis. Stat., §49.79(10), an ABAWD is required to fulfill a work requirement. If she does not fulfill

the work requirement, she is limited to receiving no more than three months’ FS during a three year


period. The program’s requirements are specified in the Department’s FS Handbook at §3.17.1. A person

can be exempt from the program if she is a student of higher education who is otherwise eligible for FS.

Handbook, §3.17.1.5. For a student to be eligible she must be employed at least 20 hours per week along

with her schooling, be responsible for the care of a child, be participating in Wisconsin Works (W-2) or

FSET and have school approved through W-2 or FSET, or be enrolled in a 2-year educational program

with a diploma leading to employment that is in demand. Handbook, §3.15.1.

To meet the work requirement the ABAWD must work a minimum of 80 hours per month, participate in

a work program 80 hours per month, or a combination of both for 80 hours per month. Handbook,

§3.17.1.7. The person is limited to three months of FS eligibility in which he is not meeting the 80-hour

requirement and is not exempt. Handbook, §3.17.1.9. FS ends after three months of failing to meet the

work requirement, but eligibility can begin again if the person becomes exempt or meets the work

requirement for a 30-day period (the person could reapply for FS after meeting the requirement for 30

days). Handbook, §3.17.1.11.

Petitioner did not meet the work requirements in the months of October, November, and December, 2015,

and thus her three months have passed. She asked that her school enrollment be accepted as meeting the

requirement, but she was not enrolled in those three months. If petitioner now is enrolled, she likely

would be ineligible for FS anyway unless she also is working 20 hours per week (and if she is working 20

hours per week she would meet the work requirement and regain FS eligibility). If the program is a two-

year one that could lead to employment, she would be exempt from FSET, but petitioner did not provide

any information that could lead me to make that finding. She still can do so by reapplying for FS and

providing the school information that could lead a worker to exempt her.
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The agency correctly closed petitioner’s FS because her three-month time limited benefits ended without

her completing required work program participation.

THEREFORE, it is ORDERED

That the petition for review is hereby dismissed.

REQUEST FOR A REHEARING

You may request a rehearing if you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts or the law

or if you have found new evidence that would change the decision. Your request must be received within
20 days after the date of this decision. Late requests cannot be granted.

Send your request for rehearing in writing to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, 5005 University

Avenue, Suite 201, Madison, WI 53705-5400 and to those identified in this decision as "PARTIES IN

INTEREST." Your rehearing request must explain what mistake the Administrative Law Judge made and

why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and explain why you did not have it at your

first hearing. If your request does not explain these things, it will be denied.

The process for requesting a rehearing may be found at Wis. Stat. § 227.49. A copy of the statutes may be

found online or at your local library or courthouse.

APPEAL TO COURT

You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live. Appeals must be filed

with the Court and served either personally or by certified mail on the Secretary of the Department of

Health Services, 1 West Wilson Street, Room 651, Madison, Wisconsin 53703, and on those identified in

this decision as “PARTIES IN INTEREST” no more than 30 days after the date of this decision or 30

days after a denial of a timely rehearing (if you request one).

The process for Circuit Court Appeals may be found at Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53. A copy of the

statutes may be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

  Given under my hand at the City of Madison,

Wisconsin, this 8th day of February, 2016

  \sBrian C. Schneider

  Administrative Law Judge

Division of Hearings and Appeals
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State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

Brian Hayes, Administrator Telephone: (608) 266-3096
Suite 201 FAX: (608) 264-9885
5005 University Avenue 
Madison, WI   53705-5400 

email: DHAmail@wisconsin.gov  
Internet: http://dha.state.wi.us

The preceding decision was sent to the following parties on February 8, 2016.

Milwaukee Enrollment Services

Division of Health Care Access and Accountability

http://dha.state.wi.us

