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STATE OF WISCONSIN

Division of Hearings and Appeals

PRELIMINARY RECITALS

Pursuant to a petition filed February 24, 2016, under Wis. Admin. Code § HA 3.03(4), to review a

decision by the Milwaukee Enrollment Services in regard to FoodShare benefits (FS), a hearing was held

on March 24, 2016, at Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

The issue for determination is whether the agency correctly discontinued the petitioner’s FS because he


failed to comply with work program requirements in three months.

There appeared at that time and place the following persons:

 PARTIES IN INTEREST:

Petitioner: 

 

 

Respondent:

Department of Health Services

1 West Wilson Street, Room 651

Madison, Wisconsin 53703

By: 

Milwaukee Enrollment Services

1220 W Vliet St, Room 106

Milwaukee, WI  53205

 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE:

 Corinne Balter

 Division of Hearings and Appeals

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The petitioner (CARES # ) is a resident of Milwaukee County.  He is the only person

in his FoodShare (FS) household.  He is an able-bodied adult without dependents.

2. The petitioner completed a renewal of for his FS benefits on November 3, 2015.
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3. On October 26, 2015 the agency mailed the petitioner a Foodshare Employment and Training

Program (FSET) Referral letter informing him, among other things, that he had been referred for

enrollment in FSET, and that he must enroll and participate in FSET unless he established he was

exempt.  The notice went on to state that a FSET-referred person can only receive FS in three

time limited benefit months in a 36 month period without participating in FSET. The letter

described in detail how the referred person could meet the requirement (working 80 hours per

month, or attending allowed work program activities total of 80 hours per month, and/or both

working and attending allowed work program activities a total of 80 hours per month.)

4. The FSET agency set up orientations for the petitioner on November 4, 2015, November 16,

2015, November 25, 2015, and December 7, 2015.  The petitioner was mailed notice of all

scheduled orientations.  He did not attend any of these scheduled orientations.

5. The FSET agency called the petitioner on several occasions.  At one point the petitioner said that

he had been unable to attend one of the scheduled orientations.  The FSET agency told the

petitioner that he could simply walk-in.  The petitioner still never completed an FSET orientation.

6. The petitioner received full monthly FS benefits in December 2015, January 2016, and February

2016.

7. On February 17, 2016 the agency mailed the petitioner a notice stating that his FS benefits would

terminate effective March 1, 2016 because he had exhausted his three months of time limited FS

benefits.

8. On February 24, 2016 the Division of Hearings and Appeals received the petitioner’s Request for


Fair Hearing.

DISCUSSION

Pursuant to a provision of Wisconsin’s 2007-2009 biennial budget, Wisconsin has operated a voluntary

FoodShare Employment and Training (FSET) program since 2008. The Personal Responsibility and

Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA) limits the receipt of FS benefits to three full

months in a 36-month time period for Able-Bodied Adults without Dependents (ABAWDs) who do not

meet the work requirement or meet an exemption from the work requirement.

6.3.2 Non-Exempt ABAWD Participation Requirements

Non-exempt ABAWDs who do not meet the ABAWD work requirement will only be

allowed to receive up to three full months of FoodShare (FS) benefits in a 36-month time

period. ABAWDs subject to time-limited benefits (TLBs) may choose to meet the work

requirement by participating in FSET.

As part of Wisconsin’s 2014-15 biennial budget, 2013 Wisconsin Act 20 created Wis. Stat., §49.79(10),

which mandated FS eligibility and work requirements for ABAWDs to be implemented in Wisconsin

beginning in 2014, consistent with federal regulations 7 CFR §273.7 and 7 CFR §273.24. The program

began in Milwaukee County effective April 1, 2015, and FS recipients were required to meet the

requirements beginning with the next FS review completed after April 1, 2015. FoodShare Wisconsin

Handbook , §3.17.1.2.

Under Wis. Stat., §49.79(10), an ABAWD is required to fulfill a work requirement. If he does not fulfill

the work requirement, he is limited to receiving no more than three months’ FS during a three year period.


The requirements are stated in the FSET Handbook, as follows:
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6.3.2.1 Definition of Working for ABAWDs

For ABAWDs, working is defined as one of the following:

 Work in exchange for money;

 Work in exchange for goods or services (in-kind);

 Unpaid work (e.g. volunteer work, community service);

 Self-employment; or

 Any combination of the above.

6.3.2.2 ABAWD Work Requirement

An ABAWD is considered to be meeting the ABAWD work requirement if one

of the following applies:

 Working a minimum of 80 hours per month. Use converted work hours if paid

weekly or bi-weekly;

 Participating in and complying with the requirements of an allowable work

program at least 80 hours per month; or

 Both working and participating in an allowable work program for a combined

total of at least 80 hours per month.

 Participating in and complying with the requirements of a workfare program.

FSET Handbook, §§ 6.3.2.1 & 6.3.2.2; and see FoodShare Wisconsin Handbook  at §3.17.1.

To meet the work requirement the ABAWD must work a minimum of 80 hours per month, participate in

a work program 80 hours per month, or a combination of both for 80 hours per month. FoodShare

Wisconsin Handbook, §3.17.1.7. The person is limited to three months of FS eligibility in which he is not

meeting the 80-hour requirement and is not exempt. Ibid., §3.17.1.9. FS ends after three months of failing

to meet the work requirement, but eligibility can begin again if the person becomes exempt or meets the

work requirement for a 30-day period (the person could reapply for FS after meeting the requirement for

30 days). Ibid., §3.17.1.11.  A person can be exempt from the program if he is living with a child under 18

years of age; caring for a person who cannot care for himself or herself; caring for a child under 6 who

does not live in the home; physically or mentally unable to work; pregnant; had applied for or is receiving

Unemployment Compensation benefits; or is taking part in an Alcohol or Substance Abuse (AODA)

program.  FoodShare Wisconsin Handbook, §3.17.1.5.  In this case the petitioner never provided the

agency with verification that he met one of the seven exemptions.  Rather, he indicated that he was an

able-bodied adult without dependents.  As such, he was required to enroll in the FSET program.

The FSET Handbook, at section 3.5.2, specifically states in this failure to enroll situation, as follows:

In order for a non-exempt ABAWD to meet the work requirement through FSET

participation and maintain ongoing FS benefits after the TLB month, s/he must be

enrolled and fully participating in FSET by the 10th day of the third TLB month. The

FSET worker should document in PIN comments information relating to each contact

that is attempted.

In this case, the petitioner never enrolled in the FSET program.  At the hearing the petitioner testified that

he went back and forth from Milwaukee, and that he did not get all the notices.  The petitioner

nonetheless confirmed the address where these notices were sent as his actual address.  A person does not

get to provide an address, and then state that he did not receive the items sent to the provided address.  He

is responsible to get his mail there.  This address continues to be his address.  The FSET program also
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spoke to him, and told him to walk-in.  He was still unable to complete a one hour orientation in a three

month period.  This is not in compliance with the FSET program.

The petitioner next argued that he was not in a stable place, and was not able to participate in the FSET

program.  He does not get to pick what he can and cannot do.  The petitioner admits that he did not enroll

in the program.  Under the FSET rules there is no good cause exception for an abled bodied adult who

fails to enroll in the program.  He has used up his three months of time limited benefits, and thus the

agency properly seeks to terminate the petitioner’s FS benefits effective March 1, 2016.

Finally, as a point of information to the petitioner about the new FSET requirements, the FoodShare

Wisconsin Handbook  provides for regaining FS eligibility as follows:

3.17.1.11 Regaining Eligibility after Exhausting 3 Months of Time-Limited Benefits

There is no limit on how many times an ABAWD may regain eligibility after exhausting

three months of TLBs. A new application is required if the ABAWD re-requests FS as an

assistance group of one. If an ABAWD is requesting FS on an ongoing case, follow the

person add policy to re-establish FS eligibility (6.1.3.3). ABAWDs who have exhausted

three months of TLBs during a 36-month period may regain eligibility by:

1. Meeting the ABAWD work requirement for at least 30 consecutive days prior to

the new FS filing date and currently meeting the work requirement, OR verifying

that the work requirement will be met within 30 days of the new filing date. The

work requirement can be met by:

 Working a minimum of 80 hours in the 30-day period;

 Participating in and complying with requirements of an allowable work

program, such as Workforce Investment Act (WIA) or a Trade Adjustment

Assistance Act program, for at least 80 hours in the 30-day period. FS

eligibility is a required prerequisite to FSET enrollment, so an ABAWD

cannot regain eligibility through FSET participation after FS closes. Keep

in mind, this is only for Non-Exempt ABAWDs who have exhausted their

3 TLBs; or

 A combination of work and participation in an allowable work program

for a minimum of 80 hours in the 30-day period;

2. Currently meeting an ABAWD exemption at the time of the application and

providing verification of the exemption; or

3. The ABAWD’s 36-month period expires.

An ABAWD who has exhausted 3 months of TLBs and is not meeting one of the above

requirements at the time of re-application is ineligible for FoodShare. If the ineligible

ABAWD is a member of an open FS group, the ABAWD will be counted as a pro-rated

deemer. See 4.7.5 Prorated Deeming.

The petitioner needs to get a job, participate in another allowable work (NOT FSET) program, or a

combination of both for 80 hours in an immediate past month or anticipated in the next future month, with

verification. He would be well-advised to contact a MilES income maintenance worker to discuss ways to

regain eligibility or he will remain ineligible through the 36 month period.

http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/fsh/policy_files/6/61/6-1-3.htm#6_1_3_3_Changes_that_cause_an_increase_in_benefits__including_Person_Adds
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/fsh/policy_files/4/47/4-7-5.htm
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The agency correctly discontinued the petitioner’s FS because he failed to comply with work program


requirements in three months.

THEREFORE, it is ORDERED

That the petition is dismissed.

REQUEST FOR A REHEARING

You may request a rehearing if you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts or the law

or if you have found new evidence that would change the decision.  Your request must be received
within 20 days after the date of this decision.  Late requests cannot be granted.

Send your request for rehearing in writing to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, 5005 University

Avenue, Suite 201, Madison, WI 53705-5400 and to those identified in this decision as "PARTIES IN

INTEREST."  Your rehearing request must explain what mistake the Administrative Law Judge made and

why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and explain why you did not have it at your

first hearing.  If your request does not explain these things, it will be denied.

The process for requesting a rehearing may be found at Wis. Stat. § 227.49.  A copy of the statutes may

be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

APPEAL TO COURT

You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live.  Appeals must be filed

with the Court and served either personally or by certified mail on the Secretary of the Department of

Health Services, 1 West Wilson Street, Room 651, Madison, Wisconsin 53703, and on those identified in

this decision as “PARTIES IN INTEREST” no more than 30 days after the date of this decision or 30

days after a denial of a timely rehearing (if you request one).

The process for Circuit Court Appeals may be found at Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53. A copy of the

statutes may be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

  Given under my hand at the City of Milwaukee,

Wisconsin, this 4th day of April, 2016

  \sCorinne Balter

  Administrative Law Judge

Division of Hearings and Appeals
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State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

Brian Hayes, Administrator Telephone: (608) 266-3096
Suite 201 FAX: (608) 264-9885
5005 University Avenue 
Madison, WI   53705-5400 

email: DHAmail@wisconsin.gov  
Internet: http://dha.state.wi.us

The preceding decision was sent to the following parties on April 4, 2016.

Milwaukee Enrollment Services

Division of Health Care Access and Accountability

http://dha.state.wi.us

