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STATE OF WISCONSIN


Division of Hearings and Appeals


PRELIMINARY RECITALS


Pursuant to a petition filed May 29, 2012, under Wis. Admin. Code § HA 3.03, to review a decision by


the Kenosha County Human Service Department in regard to Child Care, a hearing was held on June 27,


2012, at Kenosha, Wisconsin.


The issue for determination is whether the evidence is sufficient to demonstrate that Petitioner was


overissued child care benefits and, if so, whether the amount of the alleged overpayment has been


demonstrated to be accurate.


There appeared at that time and place the following persons:


 PARTIES IN INTEREST:


Petitioner:

 

 

Respondent:

Department of Children and Families

201 East Washington Avenue, Second Floor
Madison, Wisconsin 53703 -2866

By: Karen Mayer

Kenosha County Human Service Department

8600 Sheridan Road

Kenosha, WI  53143

 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE:


 David D. Fleming


 Division of Hearings and Appeals


FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioner (CARES # ) is a resident of Kenosha County.


In the Matter of

 DECISION

 CCO/141274



CCO/141274


2

2. The agency sent Petitioner a notice dated May 17, 2012 that informed Petitioner that she had been


overissued child care benefits in the amount of $1151.50 for the time period of January 15, 2012


through April 30, 2012.


3. Petitioner was attending class at her local technical college for the 2011 - 12 term. It was an


approved activity. Petitioner was working full-time during the fall semester of 2011 and was


eligible for payment for child care by the Wisconsin Shares Child Care Program.


4. Petitioner worked only four weeks during the spring semester of 2012, did not report that to the


agency until April 17, 2012 and did use child care services that were paid for by the Shares


Program during that semester.


5. Petitioner did receive paychecks dated January 13, 2012, January 27, 2012 and March 9, 2012.


The first two were in the amount of $131.60 and the last was $263.20 as that March 9, 2012


paycheck covered a two-week period.


6. The amount paid for child care by the Wisconsin Shares Child Care Program is not disputed.


DISCUSSION


The Wisconsin Statutes, at §49.195(3), state the following:


A county, tribal governing body, Wisconsin works agency or the department shall determine


whether an overpayment has been made under s. 49.19, 49.148, 49.155 or 49.157 and, if so, the


amount of the overpayment…. Notwithstanding s. 49.96, the department shall promptly recover


all overpayments made under s. 49.19, 49.148, 49.155 or 49.157 that have not already been


received under s. 49.161 or 49.19(17) and shall promulgate rules establishing policies and


procedures to administer this subsection.


Child care subsidies are authorized in the Wisconsin Statutes, at §49.155; thus they are within the


purview of §49.195(3).  Recovery of child care overpayments also is mandated by the Wisconsin


A dministrative Code. W is. A dmin. Code, §  DCF 101.23.  An overpayment is any payment received in an


amount greater than the amount that the assistance group was eligible to receive, regardless of the reason


for the overpayment or whose error caused the overpayment.  W is. A dmin. Code, § DCF 101.23(1) (g).


Adm. Code. Clearly, then, all overpayments, regardless of whose error caused the overpayment, are to be


recovered. Also see, Wisconsin Shares Child Care A ssistance Manual,  §2.3.1.

Generally speaking, to successfully establish an overpayment claim, the county agency needs to present: a


copy of a notice and overpayment computations that was sent to the recipient; primary documentation


proving the misstatement, omission, or failure occurred and caused child care to be granted for which the


client was not otherwise eligible; documentation of the benefits actually paid; and Case Comments


corroborating the facts and timeline of the original reporting, subsequent discovery, client contacts,


referral, and determination.  The agency must establish by the “preponderance of the evidence” in the

record that it correctly determined the client was overpaid.   This legal standard of review means, simply,


that “it is more likely than not” that the overpayment occurred.  It is the lowest legal standard in use in

courts or tribunals.


The recipient may then offer any documents or testimony that rebuts any part of the agency claim.  The


agency, likewise, may then choose to submit other documents or testimony to address and attempt to


rebut the defenses raised by the recipient.


All parents must be participating in an approved activity in order to receive child care assistance.


W isconsin Shares Child Care A ssistance Manual, §1.4.8.   Attendance at a technical college can be an


approved activity:
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1.5.7 Technical College or Course of Study Producing Employment 

Participate in a course of study at a technical college or participate in a course of study


that would produce an employment skill as determined by the department if the county


Human Services or other agency or its subcontracted eligibility determination agency


determines that the course or courses would facilitate the individual to maintain


employment.


 

 A school and work schedule is required for all participants.


 The applicant/child care authorizing agency must determine that the education will


provide an employment skill that facilitates the employed individual’s effo rts to maintain


their current position or enhance employment in the same or another profession.


 The determination shall be entered by the agency into CARES case comments.


 Apprenticeships are an allowable approved activity for Wisconsin Shares child care


assistance. The apprenticeship may be paid or unpaid. Apprenticeships are exempt from


the five hour per week work requirement.


 Except for persons in apprenticeships, the individual is employed at least five (5) hours


per week or 20 hours per month at the time the authorization for school begins and


continues to be employed at least five (5) hours per week or 20 hours per month


throughout the semester. A child care administrative agency may have a policy that


exceeds 20 hours per month if the policy is in writing is applied to all parents and is and


made available to the parent.


 The employment meets the Wisconsin Shares child care assistance definitions of


unsubsidized employment, or


 The employment is a work study position, or


 The employment is dire ctly related to the individual’s school and their participation in the


employment while in school produces a measurable cash value such as: fellowships,


working for room and board as a Resident Assistant in a dormitory or private apartment,


teaching assistant positions for tuition credits, or any other education-related employment


that has a measurable cash value equivalent to five (5) hours per week at the state


 Unsubsidized employment that is on an “on -call” basis or registration with a temporary


employment agency is not qualified as employment for approval of Technical College or


Course of Study Producing Employment as an approved activity. The individual must


actually work the minimum hours on a weekly or monthly basis.


 Wisconsin Shares child care assistance for participating in education under this section is


limited to no more than 24 months per lifetime of the parent. The 24 months need not be


consecutive.


 The 24 months shall be recorded in the CSAW system by the agency or child care


authorizing agency.


 The 24 month rule does not apply to individuals in a subsidized employment position in


W-2 or in a Tribal TANF employment position.


 Wisconsin Shares child care assistance is not available for study time.


 Wisconsin Shares child care assistance is not available for online courses that are self-

paced and do not require specific log on times for class sessions.


W isconsin Shares Child Care A ssistance Manual, §1.5.7.
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Here it is apparent that Petitioner was not working five hours per week on a steady basis during the spring


semester of 2012. Thus she was not eligible for child care benefits during the weeks that she was not


working the required five hours. It is apparent, however, that there were four weeks when she worked at


least 5 hours based upon the earnings. The overpayment worksheets are not, however, in the hearing


record thus I cannot be sure that the amount of the overpayment is correct. In other words, the four weeks


in which Petitioner was working more than five hours should not be included as part of the overpayment


and there is no way, without the worksheets, for the undersigned to be sure of that.


CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

That the evidence is sufficient to demonstrate that Petitioner was overpaid child care benefits in the

amount of $1151.50 for the period from for the time period of January 12, 2012 through April 30, 2012


but is not sufficient to demonstrate the amount alleged is correct.


THEREFORE, it is ORDERED

This matter is sent back to the agency with instructions to take the steps necessary to assure that this


overpayment does not include an overpayment amount for any of the weeks during the time period


involved here during which Petitioner worked the required 5 hour minimum.  If the agency has included


an overpayment for those weeks it must remove those overpayments and adjust this claim accordingly. It


must do this within 10 days of the date of this and notify the Division of Hearings and Appeals and


Petitioner of the results of the review.


In all other respects, this appeal is dismissed.


REQUEST FOR A REHEARING


This is a final administrative decision. If you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts

or the law, you may request a rehearing. You may also ask for a rehearing if you have found new


evidence which would change the decision. Your request must explain what mistake the Administrative


Law Judge made and why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and tell why you did


not have it at your first hearing. If you do not explain these things, your request will have to be denied.


To ask for a rehearing, send a written request to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, P.O. Box 7875,


Madison, WI 53707-7875. Send a copy of your request to the other people named in this decision as


"PARTIES IN INTEREST."  Your request for a rehearing must be received no later than 20 days after the


date of the decision. Late requests cannot be granted.


The process for asking for a rehearing is in Wis. Stat. § 227.49. A copy of the statutes can be found at


your local library or courthouse.


APPEAL TO COURT


You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live.  Appeals must be filed


with the appropriate court no more than 30 days after the date of this hearing decision (or 30 days after a


denial of rehearing, if you ask for one).


For purposes of appeal to circuit court, the Respondent in this matter is the Department of Children and


Families.  After filing the appeal with the appropriate court, it must be served on the Secretary of that


Department, either personally or by certified mail. The address of the Department is:  201 East


Washington Avenue, Second Floor, Madison, Wisconsin 53703-2866.  A copy should also be sent to the


Division of Hearings and Appeals, 5005 University Avenue, Suite 201, Madison, WI 53705-5400.
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The appeal must also be served on the other "PARTIES IN INTEREST" named in this decision. The


process for appeals to the Circuit Court is in Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53.


  Given under my hand at the City of Milwaukee,


Wisconsin, this 20th day of September, 2012


  David D. Fleming


  Administrative Law Judge


Division of Hearings and Appeals


c: Kenosha County Human Service Department - email

Department of Children and Families - email
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State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS


David H. Schwarz Telephone: (608) 266-3096
Suite 201 FAX: (608) 264-9885
5005 University Avenue
Madison, WI   53705-5400

email: DHAmail@wisconsin.gov   
Internet: http://dha.state.wi.us

The preceding decision was sent to the following parties on September 20, 2012.


Kenosha County Human Service Department


Public Assistance Collection Unit


Child Care Fraud


http://dha.state.wi.us

