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STATE OF WISCONSIN


Division of Hearings and Appeals


PRELIMINARY RECITALS


Pursuant to a petition filed August 15, 2012, under Wis. Admin. Code § HA 3.03, to review a decision by


the Milwaukee County Department of Human Services in regard to Child Care (CC), a hearing was held


on October 17, 2012, at Milwaukee, Wisconsin.


The issue for determination is whether the petitioner was overpaid in CC benefits for the October 30,


2011 through March 3, 2012 period.


There appeared at that time and place the following persons:


 PARTIES IN INTEREST:


Petitioner:

 

 

 

Respondent:

Department of Children and Families

201 East Washington Avenue

Madison, Wisconsin 53703

By: Keisha Love

Milwaukee County Department of Human Services

1220 W. Vliet Street

1st Floor, Room 106

Milwaukee, WI  53205

 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE:


 Nancy J.Gagnon (telephonically)


 Division of Hearings and Appeals


FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioner (CARES # ) is a resident of Milwaukee County.
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2. The petitioner utilized day care services and received CC benefits for the October 30, 2011


through March 3, 2012 period.  The petitioner had been working at  in October


2011, but the parties agree that her employment there ended on October 27, 2011.


3. The cessation of the  employment was not reported by the petitioner to the


agency until January 30, 2012.  The petitioner was supposed to report the change within 10 days.


4. The petitioner contends that she was working at  from January 16 through

March 3, 2012.   is also the licensed daycare that the petitioner’s children attended.

5. Because the agency considers  to not be a “qualified employer,” that

employment did not count as a “qualified activity” for CC purposes.

6. On July 12, 2012, the Department issued a CC Overpayment Notice  (Notice) to the petitioner.


The Notice advised that the petitioner had been overpaid $4,805.41 in CC for the October 30,


2011 to March 3, 2012 period.


DISCUSSION


I.  A RECIPIENT MUST REPAY A CC OVERPAYMENT, WITHOUT REGARD TO WHO


(CLIENT/AGENCY) WAS AT FAULT IN CREATING THE OVERPAYMENT .


The applicable overpayment rule requires recovery of the overpayment, regardless of whether it was the


fault of the client or the agency.  Wis. Admin. Code §DCF 201.04(5)(a).  See in accord, Child Day Care


Manual (Manual), §2.3.1.   Thus, even if the overpayment was caused by agency error, the agency may


still establish an overpayment claim against the petitioner. This policy is available online at 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/childcare/wishares/manual.htm .  

II.  QUALIFIED EMPLOYER.


In this case, the petitioner does not contest several things.  She does not contest that she took her children


to day care during the identified period, and she does not quarrel with the agency’s arithmetic in the

overpayment calculation.


The child care subsidy program’s authorizing statute contains financial and nonfinancial eligibility


criteria.  If applicant parents do not meet the eligibility criteria, then CC cannot be granted.  The agency


asserts that the petitioner’s lack of employment/approved activity made CC benefits unnecessary. The


pertinent portion of the statute setting out nonfinancial eligibility criteria reads as follows:


  (1m) ELIGIBILITY . A Wisconsin works agency shall determine eligibility for a child care


subsidy under this section.  Under this section, an individual may receive a subsidy for child


care for a child who has not attained the age of 13 …if the individual meets all of the following


conditions:


(a) The individual is a parent of a child who is under the age of 13 …and child care services

for that child are needed in order for the individual to do any of the following :


1. Meet the school attendance requirement under s.49.26(1)(ge)[Learnfare, for minor


parents].


1m. Obtain a high school diploma …
2. Work in an unsubsidized job …

3. Work in a Wisconsin works employment position  …

3m. Participate in a job search or work experience component of the food stamp …


program.


http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/childcare/wishares/manual.htm
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/childcare/wishares/manual.htm
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4. If the Wisconsin works agency determines that basic education would facilitate the


individual’s efforts to maintain employment, participate in basic education … An


individual may receive aid under this subdivision for up to 2 years.


5. Participate in a course of study at a technical college...  An individual may receive aid


under this subdivision for up to 2 years.


                                                                          [ emphasis added]


Wis. Stat. §49.155(1m)(a).  See in accord, Wis. Admin. Code §DCF 201.04(2g)(d). Neither section


49.141(1), section 49.155, nor Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter 201 defines either “un subsidized


job” or “employer.”  

Another code chapter with some limited provisions regarding CC contains the following definition of


“unsubsidized employment:”

DCF 101.03 Definitions. Unless otherwise provided, in this chapter:


...


(35) "Unsubsidized employment" means employment for which the Wisconsin works


agency provides no wage subsidy to the employer including self-employment and


entrepreneurial activities.


Wis. Admin. Code §DCF 101.03(35).  Absent from this definition is any requirement that the employer


have a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN).


The Department’s policy document states that unsubsidized employment is an approved activity for CC


purposes.  It goes on to declare that only two types of unsubsidized employment can create nonfinancial


eligibility:  (1) self-employment or (2) “working for a qualified employer who has a Federal Employer


Identification Number (FEIN).”  Manual, §1.5.3.  The petitioner agrees that she was not self-employed.


The Department’s representative indicated that the questionable employer here, , did

not have a FEIN during the overpayment period, and was not paying payroll taxes.  See also, id., §1.5.3.1.


I believe that the Manual’s treatment of employment by a qualified employer is a reason able fleshing out


of the statutory and code requirements, and that its application to this specific case is reasonable.  The


evidence available in the instant case does not warrant an exception to the policy.  The petitioner has been


inconsistent in her statements to the agency as to her start date at  (January 16 or February 1, 2012) .


The  owner did not testify at hearing.  The owner did have a conversation with a Department


worker, in which she advised that she was “behind” on paying payroll t axes.


CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The petitioner was not working in unsubsidized employment for a “qualified employer”
during the alleged overpayment period.


2. The Department’s collection efforts on claim #  are appropriate.


THEREFORE, it is ORDERED

That the petition is dismissed.


REQUEST FOR A REHEARING


This is a final administrative decision. If you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts


or the law, you may request a rehearing. You may also ask for a rehearing if you have found new
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evidence which would change the decision. Your request must explain what mistake the Administrative


Law Judge made and why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and tell why you did


not have it at your first hearing. If you do not explain these things, your request will have to be denied.


To ask for a rehearing, send a written request to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, P.O. Box 7875,


Madison, WI 53707-7875. Send a copy of your request to the other people named in this decision as


"PARTIES IN INTEREST."  Your request for a rehearing must be received no later than 20 days after the


date of the decision. Late requests cannot be granted.


The process for asking for a rehearing is in Wis. Stat. § 227.49. A copy of the statutes can be found at


your local library or courthouse.


APPEAL TO COURT


You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live.  Appeals must be filed


with the appropriate court no more than 30 days after the date of this hearing decision (or 30 days after a


denial of rehearing, if you ask for one).


For purposes of appeal to circuit court, the Respondent in this matter is the Department of Children and


Families.  After filing the appeal with the appropriate court, it must be served on the Secretary of that


Department, either personally or by certified mail. The address of the Department is:  201 East


Washington Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin 53703.  A copy should also be sent to the Division of Hearings


and Appeals, 5005 University Avenue, Suite 201, Madison, WI 53705-5400.


The appeal must also be served on the other "PARTIES IN INTEREST" named in this decision. The


process for appeals to the Circuit Court is in Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53.


  Given under my hand at the City of Madison,


Wisconsin, this 3rd day of December, 2012


  \sNancy J. Gagnon


  Administrative Law Judge


Division of Hearings and Appeals
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State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

David H. Schwarz Telephone: (608) 266-3096
Suite 201 FAX: (608) 264-9885
5005 University Avenue
Madison, WI   53705-5400

email: DHAmail@wisconsin.gov   
Internet: http://dha.state.wi.us

The preceding decision was sent to the following parties  on December 3, 2012.

Milwaukee County Department of Human Services

Public Assistance Collection Unit

Child Care Fraud

http://dha.state.wi.us

