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STATE OF WISCONSIN


Division of Hearings and Appeals


PRELIMINARY RECITALS


Pursuant to a petition filed September 4, 2012, under Wis. Stat., §49.45(5)(a), to review a decision by


Wood County Human Services to deny backdated Medical Assistance (MA), a hearing was held on


December 19, 2012, by telephone.  The hearing was a rehearing granted by the Division of Hearings and


Appeals on November 16, 2012.


The issue for determination is whether MA can be backdated more than three months prior to the


application.


 PARTIES IN INTEREST:


Petitioner:

  

 

 

Respondent:

Department of Health Services
1 West Wilson Street

Madison, Wisconsin 53703

      By: Beulah Garcia

Wood County Human Services

P.O. Box 8095

Wisconsin Rapids, WI  54495 -8095

 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE:


 Brian C. Schneider


 Division of Hearings and Appeals


FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioner (CARES # ) is a resident of Wood County.


2. Petitioner gave birth to a son on February 29, 2012.  She applied for M A on July 31, 2012,


seeking coverage back to February.


3. By a notice dated August 12, 2012, the agency granted BadgerCare Plus (BC+) Benchmark MA


for petitioner’s son effective July 1, 2012.  Benefits prior to that date were denied because income
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was over the limit for backdating, and because a backdate can only be for the three months prior


to application.


DISCUSSION


Under state law MA can be granted in the month of application and the three months prior to the month of


application.  Wis. Stat., §49.46(1)(b); Wis. Admin. Code, §DHS 103.08(1).  There is no discretion


afforded either the county agency or the Division of Hearings and Appeals.


Petitioner did not apply for MA until July because she thought that the Veterans Administration would


cover the birth of the child.  She also was given poor advice by a private insurance agent regarding MA


eligibility.  Nevertheless, I cannot backdate MA to any period prior to April 1, 2012 because the MA


application was not filed until July.


With regard to April through June, normally BC+ cannot be backdated.  Wis. Admin. Code, §DHS


103.08(5).  However, the Department instituted a policy of allowing backdated BC+ in certain cases.


Specifically, a household can be eligible for up to three months prior to the application if income is below


133% of poverty.  Infants can be eligible for the backdate if household income is below 300% of poverty.

BC+ Handbook, Appendix 25.8.1.  300% of poverty for a three-person household is $4,772.50.  See


Handbook, App. 50.1.  Petitioner’s household income is over $5,000 per month, and thus there is no

eligibility for backdating even to April 1, 2012.


CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Petitioner’s BC+ cannot be backdated to February, 2012 because h er application was filed on July 31,


2012.


THEREFORE, it is ORDERED

That the petition for review herein be and the same is hereby dismissed.


REQUEST FOR A REHEARING


This is a final administrative decision. If you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts


or the law, you may request a rehearing. You may also ask for a rehearing if you have found new


evidence which would change the decision. Your request must explain what mistake the Administrative


Law Judge made and why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and tell why you did


not have it at your first hearing. If you do not explain these things, your request will have to be denied.


To ask for a rehearing, send a written request to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, P.O. Box 7875,


Madison, WI 53707-7875. Send a copy of your request to the other people named in this decision as


"PARTIES IN INTEREST."  Your request for a rehearing must be received no later than 20 days after the


date of the decision. Late requests cannot be granted.


The process for asking for a rehearing is in Wis. Stat. § 227.49. A copy of the statutes can be found at


your local library or courthouse.
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APPEAL TO COURT


You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live.  Appeals must be served


and filed with the appropriate court no more than 30 days after the date of this hearing decision (or 30


days after a denial of rehearing, if you ask for one).


For purposes of appeal to circuit court, the Respondent in this matter is the Department of Health


Services.  After filing the appeal with the appropriate court, it must be served on the Secretary of that


Department, either personally or by certified mail. The address of the Department is:  1 West Wilson


Street, Madison, Wisconsin 53703.  A copy should also be sent to the Division of Hearings and Appeals,


5005 University Avenue, Suite 201, Madison, WI 53705-5400.


The appeal must also be served on the other "PARTIES IN INTEREST" named in this decision. The


process for appeals to the Circuit Court is in Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53.


  Given under my hand at the City of Madison,


Wisconsin, this 21st day of December, 2012


  \sBrian C. Schneider


  Administrative Law Judge


Division of Hearings and Appeals
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State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

David H. Schwarz Telephone: (608) 266-3096
Suite 201 FAX: (608) 264-9885
5005 University Avenue
Madison, WI   53705-5400

email: DHAmail@wisconsin.gov   
Internet: http://dha.state.wi.us

The preceding decision was sent to the following parties  on December 21, 2012.

Wood County Human Services - WI Rapids

Division of Health Care Access and Accountability

http://dha.state.wi.us

