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STATE OF WISCONSIN
Division of Hearings and Appeals

In the Matter of

I R AMENDED DECISION
]
] CCO/154302

PRELIMINARY RECITALS

Pursuant to a petition filed December 19, 2013, under Wis. Admin. Code § HA 3.03, to review a decision
by the Milwaukee Early Care Administration - MECA in regard to Child Care, a hearing was held on
January 15, 2014, at Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Following issuance of the Decision in this matter, the
respondent noted that the Decision’s Conclusion of Law cited to an incorrect overpayment claim number.
This Amended Decision corrects that error.

The issue for determination is whether the respondent has established an overpayment of Child Care
benefits to the petitioner.

There appeared at that time and place the following persons:

PARTIES IN INTEREST:
Petitioner:

Respondent:

Department of Children and Families

201 East Washington Avenue

Madison, Wisconsin 53703

By: Keisha Love

Milwaukee Early Care Administration - MECA
Department of Children And Families
1220 W. Vliet St. 2nd Floor, 200 East
Milwaukee, WI 53205

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE:
Peter McCombs (telephonically)

Division of Hearings and Appeals

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioner (CARES # || is 2 resident of Milwaukee County.
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2. Petitioner was employed at || JJjl] B LLC. during the time period of the overpayment;
petitioner used Child Care (CC) benefits during the time period of the overpayment. Exhibit 2-D.

3. --, LLC paid Petitioner $5.00/hour, and petitioner also received variable tip income.
B L C did not report employee tip wages. Id.

4. Petitioner was overpaid W-2 CC in the total amount of $2,812.10 for the time period of April 28,

2013 to June 30, 2013 (Claim Number [l bccavse she was not participating in an
approved activity. Exhibit 2-B(1).

5. Respondent issued a CC Client Overpayment Notice to the petitioner on December 10, 2013. Id.
6. Petitioner appealed the overpayment on December 19, 2013. Exhibit 1.
DISCUSSION

The County must determine whether an overpayment of W-2 CC has been made and, if so, the amount of
the overpayment. Wis. Stat. § 49.195(3); See also Wis. Admin. Code §§ DCF 101.23 & 201.04(5)(a);
Child Care Assistance Manual § 2.3.1.

A person is eligible for W-2 CC only if the person is participating in an approved activity. W-2 Manual
15.2.0.; See also, Wis. Stat § 49.155(1m)(a); Wis. Admin. Code § DCF 101.26(1); Wis. Admin. Code §
DCF 201.04(5)(a)2.b; Child Care Assistance Manual § 1.5.0.

As outlined below (1.5.3.1), working as a bartender is an approved activity only if the employee is
earning minimum wage. As noted in the above Findings of Fact Il LLC, employed petitioner
at a wage rate of $5.00, which is below minimum wage. LLC did not report its employees’
tip wages. Therefore, it is not a qualified employer. It follows that petitioner was not in an approved
activity during the time of the overpayment. For this reason, the overpayment must be affirmed.

1.5.3 Unsubsidized Employment
Work in an unsubsidized job, including training provided by an employer during the
regular hours of employment.

The Wisconsin Shares Child Care Assistance program recognizes only two categories of
unsubsidized employment for meeting non-financial eligibility criteria and for receiving
assistance as either:

1) Working for a qualified employer who has a Federal Employer Identification Number
(FEIN), or
2) Being legitimately self-employed.

All hours per week of unsubsidized employment, the schedule shift if second or third, and
hours allocated for transportation must be documented in CARES Worker Web in case
comments, on the employment page or in the Electronic Case File to substantiate the
need for the child care assistance hours authorized. Indicate if the hours vary on a weekly
basis. Documenting employment schedules is required for both types of unsubsidized
employment: working for a qualified employer or legitimate self-employment. If a
qualified employer has provided verification of the individual’s hours per week of
employment there is no need for them to also provide verification of a work schedule
unless the worker finds the employment questionable.
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The program definitions for “qualified employers” and “legitimate self-employment” are
described below and reflect current Wisconsin Wage and Unemployment Insurance law:

1.5.3.1 Qualified Employers

All qualified employers must have a FEIN documented in the individual’s CARES
Worker Web record for the verification of the unsubsidized employment to be considered
complete. If the FEIN is already on file on the Employment Page or the worker knows
the FEIN for the employer, the employer does not have to re-verify the number unless the
worker believes that the FEIN is incorrect.

Incorrect FEINs are considered incomplete verification (See Section 1.3.4 Missing
Verification for incomplete verification steps for new applicants, Program Adds, SMRFs
and Reviews.)

If the employer is a child care provider or a business owned or managed by the provider,
or if the reported employment appears to be questionable, the following employer items
must be verified. Please refer to the Appendix for suggested verification steps.

The employer must have a Worker’s Compensation insurance policy for its employees.
The employer must comply with Wisconsin minimum wage law for all employees.

The employer must file a New Hire report on the employee within thirty days of the
hiring date.

The employer must report wages to Unemployment Insurance unless exempt.

Child Care Assistance Manual 1.5.3.; W-2 Manual 15.2.0.; See also, Wis. Stat § 49.155(1m)(a) (2009-
10); Wis. Admin. Code § DCF 101.26(1) (November 2008); Wis. Admin. Code § DCF 201.04(5)(a)2.b.
(September 2010).

Petitioner argues that the overpayment is not her fault because it was the employer, and not her, that failed
to report employee wages as required. However, even if the overpayment is not petitioner's fault it must
still be repaid. Wis. Admin. Code § DCF 101.23(3); See also, Wis. Admin. Code § DCF 201.04(5)(a)1.
A CC overpayment is any CC benefit or payment received in an amount greater than the amount the
individual was eligible to receive under applicable statutes and rules, regardless of the reason for the
overpayment {a CC overpayment may be the result of client error, administrative error, or an Intentional
Program Violation ["IPV"]}. Wis. Admin. Code § DCF 101.23(1)(g); Child Care Assistance Manual §
2.3.1. Respondent has asserted that the overpayment here was the result of agency error in determining
eligibility.

I further note that the respondent first identified the less-than-minimum-wage issue in June of 2013, and
since then has provided the petitioner with opportunities to provide the necessary tip wage information.
She has not done so to date. Additionally, I have reviewed the respondent’s overpayment calculation
worksheets and found no error. The petitioner has not identified any calculation error.

As such, based upon all of the foregoing and upon the record before me, I conclude that the respondent
has established that petitioner received an overpayment of CC benefits.
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

For the reasons discussed above, a claim may be established against petitioner for an overpayment of W-2
CC in the total amount of $2,812.10 for the time period of April 28, 2013 to June 30, 2013 (Claim

Number D

NOW, THEREFORE, it is ORDERED

That the petition for review herein be and the same is hereby DISMISSED.

REQUEST FOR A REHEARING

You may request a rehearing if you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts or the law
or if you have found new evidence that would change the decision. Your request must be received
within 20 days after the date of this decision. Late requests cannot be granted.

Send your request for rehearing in writing to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, 5005 University
Avenue, Suite 201, Madison, WI 53705-5400 and to those identified in this decision as "PARTIES IN
INTEREST." Your rehearing request must explain what mistake the Administrative Law Judge made and
why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and explain why you did not have it at your
first hearing. If your request does not explain these things, it will be denied.

The process for requesting a rehearing may be found at Wis. Stat. § 227.49. A copy of the statutes may
be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

APPEAL TO COURT

You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live. Appeals must be filed
with the Court and served either personally or by certified mail on the Secretary of the Department of
Children and Families, 201 East Washington Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin 53703, and on those
identified in this decision as “PARTIES IN INTEREST” no more than 30 days after the date of this
decision or 30 days after a denial of a timely rehearing (if you request one).

The process for Circuit Court Appeals may be found at Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53. A copy of the

statutes may be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

Given under my hand at the City of Madison,
Wisconsin, this 28th day of April, 2014.

\sPeter McCombs
Administrative Law Judge
Division of Hearings and Appeals
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State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

Brian Hayes, Administrator Telephone: (608) 266-3096
Suite 201 FAX: (608) 264-9885
5005 University Avenue email: DHAmail@wisconsin.gov
Madison, Wl 53705-5400 Internet: http://dha.state.wi.us

The preceding decision was sent to the following parties on April 28, 2014.

Milwaukee Early Care Administration - MECA
Public Assistance Collection Unit

Child Care Fraud


http://dha.state.wi.us

