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STATE OF WISCONSIN

Division of Hearings and Appeals

PRELIMINARY RECITALS

Pursuant to a petition filed April 15, 2014, under Wis. Admin. Code § HA 3.03(1), to review a decision

by the Winnebago County Department of Human Services in regard to FoodShare benefits (FS), a hearing

was held on May 12, 2014, at Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

The issue for determination is whether the Department erred in denial of petitioner’s FS application.

There appeared at that time and place the following persons:

 PARTIES IN INTEREST:

Petitioner:

  

 

 

Respondent:

Department of Health Services

1 West Wilson Street, Room 651

Madison, Wisconsin 53703

By: Leslie Vosters

Winnebago County Department of Human Services

220 Washington Ave.

PO Box 2187

Oshkosh, WI  54903-2187

 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE:

 John P. Tedesco

 Division of Hearings and Appeals

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioner (CARES # ) is a resident of Winnebago County.

2. Petitioner applied for FS on March 7, 2014.

3. Petitioner provided information indicating that he was a student at .
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4. Petitioner provided documentation that indicated only 14 hours per week of employment.

5. The agency denied petitioner’s application based on his employment being fewer than 20 hours

per week.

6. Petitioner filed a request for hearing.

DISCUSSION

A person who is enrolled at least half time in higher education is ineligible for FS unless he meets a

specific exemption criterion.  7 C.F.R. §273.5(a); FS Handbook, Appendix 3.15.1.  The exemption

criteria are found at 7 C.F.R. §273.5(b).  The exemption criteria are found at 7 C.F.R. §273.5(b).  A

student in higher education can be exempt if he is:

(1) Under age 18 or over age 49;

(2) Physically or mentally unfit for gainful employment;

(3) Receiving Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC);

(4) Enrolled as a result of participation in the AFDC work program or its successor;

(5) Employed a minimum of 20 hours per week, or if self-employed, receiving weekly

earnings at least equal to the Federal minimum wage multiplied by 20 hours;

(6) Participating in a state or federally financed work study program during the school year;

(7) Participating in on-the-job training;

(8) Responsible for the care of a dependent household member under age 6;

(9) Responsible for a dependent household member between 6 and 12 if child care is

unavailable;

(10) A single parent responsible for a dependent child under age 12.

(11) Assigned or placed in the school by or in compliance with a work program, including

the Food Stamp Employment and Training (FSET) Program.

See also the FS Handbook, App. 3.15.1.

Petitioner’s application was denied because the agency did not recive verification of 20 or more hours of


employment per week.  At hearing, petitioner explained that he does work more than 20 hours and that he

has since provided such documentation.  That is fine.  And petitioner’s documentation may support


eligibility.  But, because the documentation was not provided with the initial application, the denial of the

initial application was not error.  If petitioner has not done so already, he should re-apply and provide all

pertinent documentation to be processed with the new application.  He may be found eligible going

forward.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The agency denial was not error because petitioner did not provide the necessary verification prior to the

denial.

THEREFORE, it is ORDERED

That this appeal is dismissed.

REQUEST FOR A REHEARING

You may request a rehearing if you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts or the law

or if you have found new evidence that would change the decision.  Your request must be received
within 20 days after the date of this decision.  Late requests cannot be granted.
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Send your request for rehearing in writing to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, 5005 University

Avenue, Suite 201, Madison, WI 53705-5400 and to those identified in this decision as "PARTIES IN

INTEREST."  Your rehearing request must explain what mistake the Administrative Law Judge made and

why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and explain why you did not have it at your

first hearing.  If your request does not explain these things, it will be denied.

The process for requesting a rehearing may be found at Wis. Stat. § 227.49.  A copy of the statutes may

be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

APPEAL TO COURT

You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live.  Appeals must be filed

with the Court and served either personally or by certified mail on the Secretary of the Department of

Health Services, 1 West Wilson Street, Room 651, Madison, Wisconsin 53703, and on those identified in

this decision as “PARTIES IN INTEREST” no more than 30 days after the date of this decision or 30

days after a denial of a timely rehearing (if you request one).

The process for Circuit Court Appeals may be found at Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53. A copy of the

statutes may be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

  Given under my hand at the City of Madison,

Wisconsin, this 29th day of May, 2014

  \sJohn P. Tedesco

  Administrative Law Judge

Division of Hearings and Appeals
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State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

Brian Hayes, Administrator Telephone: (608) 266-3096
Suite 201 FAX: (608) 264-9885
5005 University Avenue
Madison, WI   53705-5400

email: DHAmail@wisconsin.gov  
Internet: http://dha.state.wi.us

The preceding decision was sent to the following parties on May 29, 2014.

Winnebago County Department of Human Services

Division of Health Care Access and Accountability

http://dha.state.wi.us

