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STATE OF WISCONSIN
Division of Hearings and Appeals

In the Matter of

] DECISION
e MDV/161655

PRELIMINARY RECITALS

Pursuant to a petition filed October 30, 2014, under Wis. Stat. § 49.45(5), and Wis. Admin. Code § HA
3.03(1), to review a decision by the Brown County Human Services in regard to Medical Assistance
(MA) — related benefits, a hearing was held on December 16, 2014, at Green Bay, Wisconsin.

The issue for determination is whether the Department correctly imposed an 82-day divestment penalty
period on the petitioner’s case for transfer of cash to her children.

There appeared at that time and place the following persons:

PARTIES IN INTEREST:
Petitioner:

Respondent:

Department of Health Services

1 West Wilson Street, Room 651

Madison, Wisconsin 53703

By: Ashley Johnson, ES Spec.

Brown County Human Services
Economic Support-2nd Floor
111 N. Jefferson St.
Green Bay, WI 54301

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE:
Nancy J. Gagnon

Division of Hearings and Appeals

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioner (CARES # is a resident of Brown County.
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2. The petitioner filed an assistance application with the Department in November 2014. She sought
coverage for her assisted living (CBRF) charges through an MA-based Home and Community
Waiver program. Assistance was requested to begin three months (the maximum) prior to the

month of application.

3. The agency determined that the petitioner was eligible for “card services,” but imposed an 82-day
divestment penalty period from the date of the application. The arithmetic of that computation is
not in dispute, and the penalty period ended on December 14, 2014.

4. The basis for penalty period imposition was that the petitioner had an excess asset, which she
divested. The problematic asset was $20,000 in cash that the petitioner paid out in equal shares to
her four children in July 2013.

5. Prior to a 2013 hospitalization, the petitioner lived independently in the community. She was
hospitalized as of March 2013. Upon discharge in April 2013, her physician determined that the
petitioner could not continue to live independently. The petitioner then lived in the home of her
daughter [ from April into mid-July 2013. supplied care above the level of room and
board. There was no written personal services contract or lease between and her mother.

6. On July 11, 2013, the petitioner cashed in a certificate of deposit that she owned. Within a few
days, she gifted $5,000 cash to each of her four non-dependent, adult children. Later in July 2013,
she entered a CBRF costing $3,200.00 monthly. The petitioner, now age 71, has an income
stream that is slightly under $2,000 monthly. She does not have long-term care insurance. There
was not an expectation of the petitioner’s imminent death at the time of CBRF admission.

DISCUSSION

The non-exempt asset limit for a single person applying for/receiving Institutional MA or Family Care is
$2,000. A person cannot give their assets away to get under the asset limit.

A divestment is a transfer of assets for less than fair market value. Sec. 49.453(2), Wis. Stats.; MA
Eligibility Handbook, (MEH), 17.2.1. A divestment or divestments made after December 31, 2008, and
within 60 months before an application/review for institutional MA/Community Waiver programs/Family
Care, may cause ineligibility for that type of benefit. Sec. 49.453(1)(f), Stats.; MEH, 17.5. The
ineligibility is only for nursing home care; divestment does not impact on eligibility for other medical
services such as medical care, medications, and medical equipment (all of which are known as “MA card
services” in the parlance). The penalty period is specified in sec. 49.453(3), Stats., to be the number of
days determined by dividing the value of property divested by the average daily cost of nursing facility
services. MEH, 17.5.2, available at http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/meh-ebd/meh.htm.

In this case, the agency maintains that the petitioner divested $20,000 in July 2013. There is no dispute
that the petitioner transferred $20,000 to her children in July 2013. She got nothing in return from three
of the four children. Those three transfers were clearly impermissible divestments. The lame assertion
that they were atypical, early Christmas gifts was not believable or persuasive.

The petitioner received three months of services from her daughter but no personal services
contract was created. The Department’s current policy instruction on this topic calls for scrutiny of
payments to relatives for services made within three years of the MA-related application:

17.8.1 Divesting by Paying Relatives Introduction
It is divestment when an institutionalized person transfers resources to a relative in

payment for care or services the relative provided to him/her. A relative is anyone related
to the institutionalized person by blood, marriage, or adoption.
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Count all the payments for care and services which the institutionalized person made to
the relative in the last 36 months. The form of payment includes cash, property, or
anything of value transferred to the relative. It is not divestment if all of the following
conditions exist:

1. The services directly benefited the institutionalized person.

2. The payment did not exceed reasonable compensation for the services provided.

"Reasonable compensation" is the prevailing local market rate for the service at
the time the service is provided.

3. If the amount of total payment exceeds 10% of the community spouse (@] asset
share (See 18.4.3 Calculate the CSA ), the institutionalized person must have a
written, notarized agreement with the relative. The agreement must:

a. Specify the service and the amount to be paid, and
b. Exist at the time the service is provided.

If there is no community spouse, use 10% of the highest possible CSAS in 18.4.3
Calculate the CSA. [i.e., 10% of $50,000.00]

MEH, § 17.8.1. See also, Wis. Stat. § 49.453(5). I conclude that the daughter’s provision of care,
room and board to her mother was a service that directly benefited the institutionalized person.
Because the $5,000 transfer to did not exceed the 10 percent ($5,000) standard, a written,
notarized agreement between them is not needed to avoid a divestment penalty.

The MEH provides further instruction for a relative’s provision of room and board:
17.8.2 Room & Board

If an institutionalized person has made room & board payments to a relative, disregard
them if:
1. The payments do not exceed fair market value of the room & board, and
2. Are for periods when the institutionalized person was receiving the room &
board.

If the room & board is paid after the person has been institutionalized, treat the payment
as divestment unless:
1. The payment is only for the month immediately preceding the month s/he entered
the institution, or
2. S/he provides a written lease that existed during the time s/he was receiving room
& board from the relative.

MEH, § 17. 8.2.

No detailed evidence or documentation was proffered into the record as to the petitioner’s room and board
costs while living with or the number and type of service hours provided for April-June 2013. In
the absence of such evidence, I will assume that the monthly food (“board”) cost was the same as a Food
Stamps monthly allotment for one person -- $189.00. For a rent equivalent, T viewed the realtor’s
association website for one bedroom rentals in Brown County, Wisconsin. See, (viewed in December
2014) http://www.realtor.com/apartments/Brown-County WI . The one bedroom apartments shown in



javascript:TextPopup(this)
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/meh-ebd/policy_files/18/meh_18.4_spousal_impoverishment_assets.htm#18_4_3
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/meh-ebd/policy_files/18/meh_18.4_spousal_impoverishment_assets.htm#18_4_3
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/meh-ebd/policy_files/18/meh_18.4_spousal_impoverishment_assets.htm#18_4_3
javascript:TextPopup(this)
http://www.realtor.com/apartments/Brown-County_WI
http://www.realtor.com/apartments/Brown-County_WI

MDV/161655
Green Bay rent for $475 - $575 monthly. I therefore assigned a monthly rental equivalent cost in this
case of $500. Thus, a rational room and board charge would be 3689 ($189 + $500).

The daughter also performed some unspecified number of personal care hours, because the petitioner’s
physician declared that petitioner could not independently perform her activities of daily living (ADLs).
This is a vague description. I take official notice that an entry level personal care aide in Brown County is
paid, on average, $9.35 hourly. See, wage information online at http://worknet.wisconsin.gov. The
daughter testified that the petitioner has congestive heart failure, diabetes, and joint replacements, and has
trouble walking. With these ailments, it seems likely that the petitioner needed help with the ADLs of
bathing, lower body dressing, mobility, transfers, and accompaniment to medical appointments. The other
Medicaid ADLs recognized in state code are grooming, eating, toileting/incontinence care, medication
assistance, and skin care. The Medicaid program has also developed time allocations for each ADL task.
The daily time allocations are 30 minutes for bathing, 20 minutes for dressing/undressing, 20 minutes for
in-home mobility, and 30 minutes for transfers; 60 minutes weekly should also be added for physical help
needs at medical appointments (not driving time). Applied to this case, the petitioner required 100
minutes/1.75 hours of care daily plus 4 hours monthly for the appointments, or $528.28 monthly (56.5
hours x $9.35).

The daughter did vaguely testify to spending large amounts of time caring for her mother in her home, but
also noted that she is raising four children and assists with a family business. This suggests that provision
of full-time care was not feasible, even if it was justified by the petitioner’s diagnoses.

Adding the together the room, board, and personal care services charges, the total justifiable charge to the
petitioner was $1,217.28 monthly for three months, for a total of $3,651.84.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The petitioner divested $16,348.16 ($20,000 - $3,651.84) in July 2013, which was before her
MA/Community Waivers application date.

2. The Department shall revise its 82-day divestment penalty period downward, based on a divested
amount of $16,348.16.

THEREFORE, it is ORDERED

That the petition is remanded to the Department with instructions to recalculate the petitioner’s
divestment penalty period length by using a $16,348.16 divestment amount. This action shall be taken
within 10 days of the date of this Decision. In all other respects, the petition is dismissed.

REQUEST FOR A REHEARING

You may request a rehearing if you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts or the law
or if you have found new evidence that would change the decision. Your request must be received
within 20 days after the date of this decision. Late requests cannot be granted.

Send your request for rehearing in writing to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, 5005 University
Avenue, Suite 201, Madison, WI 53705-5400 and to those identified in this decision as "PARTIES IN
INTEREST." Your rehearing request must explain what mistake the Administrative Law Judge made and
why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and explain why you did not have it at your
first hearing. If your request does not explain these things, it will be denied.
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The process for requesting a rehearing may be found at Wis. Stat. § 227.49. A copy of the statutes may
be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

APPEAL TO COURT

You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live. Appeals must be filed
with the Court and served either personally or by certified mail on the Secretary of the Department of
Health Services, 1 West Wilson Street, Room 651, Madison, Wisconsin 53703, and on those identified in
this decision as “PARTIES IN INTEREST” no more than 30 days after the date of this decision or 30
days after a denial of a timely rehearing (if you request one).

The process for Circuit Court Appeals may be found at Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53. A copy of the

statutes may be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

Given under my hand at the City of Madison,
Wisconsin, this 19th day of December, 2014

\sNancy J. Gagnon
Administrative Law Judge
Division of Hearings and Appeals
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State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

Brian Hayes, Administrator Telephone: (608) 266-3096
Suite 201 FAX: (608) 264-9885
5005 University Avenue email: DHAmail@wisconsin.gov
Madison, WI  53705-5400 Internet: http://dha.state.wi.us

The preceding decision was sent to the following parties on December 19, 2014.

Brown County Human Services
Division of Health Care Access and Accountability
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