
FH

STATE OF WISCONSIN

Division of Hearings and Appeals

PRELIMINARY RECITALS

Pursuant to a petition filed April 14, 2015, under Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 10.55, to review a decision by

the La Crosse County Department of Human Services [“County”] in regard to Medical Assistance

[“MA”], a Hearing was held via telephone on May 14, 2015.

The issue for determination is whether petitioner’s has a $347.00 per month cost share for the MA Family


Care Program [“FCP”].

There appeared at that time via telephone the following persons:

 PARTIES IN INTEREST:

Petitioner: 

 

Respondent:

Department of Health Services

1 West Wilson Street, Room 651

Madison, Wisconsin 53703

BY:  , ES Supervisor

La Crosse County Department of Human Services

300 N. 4th Street

PO Box 4002

La Crosse, WI  54601

 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE:

 Sean P. Maloney

 Division of Hearings and Appeals

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioner (CARES # ;  71 years old) is a resident of Monroe County, Wisconsin.

In the Matter of:

 DECISION

 FCP/165455
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2. Petitioner is eligible for MA and for the MA Family Care program [“FCP”].

3. On March 17, 2015 an FCP renewal was completed for petitioner.

4. Following her renewal the County determined that petitioner had a $347.00 per month cost share

for FCP;  this was based on her monthly Social Security income of $1,286, a monthly basic needs

allowance of $976, monthly rent of $376, and a monthly special housing allowance of $26.

DISCUSSION

A person who is eligible for FCP must pay a monthly amount toward their cost of care.  This is known as

the cost share.  See, Wis. Stat. § 46.286(2)(a) (2013-14); Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 10.34(2) (November

2013);  Medicaid Eligibility Handbook [“MEH”] 29.3.1.  A person who is required to pay a cost share but

fails to make the required payments is ineligible for FCP.  Wis. Stat. § 46.286(2)(c) (2013-14); Wis.

Admin. Code § DHS 10.34(4)(a) (November 2013);  MEH 29.5.2.4.
1
.  When calculating the FCP cost

share certain disregards and deductions against income are allowed.  See, Wis. Stat. § 46.286(2)(a) (2013-

14); Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 10.34(2) (November 2013).

Petitioner does not dispute that she has a $347.00 per month cost share for FCP.  However, she testified

that she wanted to have a lower cost share.  Petitioner’s desire to have lower cost share is understood  --

but by law her FCP cost share is $347.00 per month.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

For the reason discussed above, petitioner has a $347.00 per month cost share for FCP.

THEREFORE, it is
 

 ORDERED

That the petition for review herein be and the same is hereby DISMISSED.

REQUEST FOR A REHEARING

You may request a rehearing if you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts or the law

or if you have found new evidence that would change the decision.  Your request must be received
within 20 days after the date of this decision.  Late requests cannot be granted.

Send your request for rehearing in writing to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, 5005 University

Avenue, Suite 201, Madison, WI 53705-5400 and to those identified in this decision as "PARTIES IN

INTEREST."  Your rehearing request must explain what mistake the Administrative Law Judge made and

why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and explain why you did not have it at your

first hearing.  If your request does not explain these things, it will be denied.

                                                
1
 If the Wisconsin Department of Health and Services ["DHS"] determines that the person or his or her

family would incur an undue financial hardship as a result of making the FCP cost share payment DHS may waive

or reduce the amount.  Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 10.34(4)(b) (November 2013).  A waiver may be requested by

writing a letter to:  Bureau Director;  Office of Family Care;  Wisconsin Department of Health Services;  P.O.

Box 7850;  Madison, Wisconsin     53707-7850.
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The process for requesting a rehearing may be found at Wis. Stat. § 227.49.  A copy of the statutes may

be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

APPEAL TO COURT

You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live.  Appeals must be filed

with the Court and served either personally or by certified mail on the Secretary of the Department of

Health Services, 1 West Wilson Street, Room 651, Madison, Wisconsin 53703, and on those identified in

this decision as “PARTIES IN INTEREST” no more than 30 days after the date of this decision or 30

days after a denial of a timely rehearing (if you request one).

The process for Circuit Court Appeals may be found at Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53. A copy of the

statutes may be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

  Given under my hand at the City of Madison,

Wisconsin, this 2nd day of June, 2015

  \sSean P. Maloney

  Administrative Law Judge

Division of Hearings and Appeals

 



FCP/165455

4

State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

Brian Hayes, Administrator Telephone: (608) 266-3096
Suite 201 FAX: (608) 264-9885
5005 University Avenue
Madison, WI   53705-5400

email: DHAmail@wisconsin.gov  
Internet: http://dha.state.wi.us

The preceding decision was sent to the following parties on June 2, 2015.

La Crosse County Department of Human Services

Office of Family Care Expansion

http://dha.state.wi.us

