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STATE OF WISCONSIN

Division of Hearings and Appeals

PRELIMINARY RECITALS

Pursuant to a petition filed May 07, 2015, under Wis. Stat. § 227.42, to review a decision by the Pierce

County Department of Human Services in regard to Medical Assistance, a hearing was held on June 15,

2015, at Ellsworth, Wisconsin.

The issue for determination is whether the petitioner can continue to receive a Caretaker Supplement

benefit on behalf of an 18-year-old child who will not graduate before he turns 19 years old.

There appeared at that time and place the following persons:

 PARTIES IN INTEREST:

Petitioner:

 

 

Respondent:

Department of Health Services

1 West Wilson Street, Room 651

Madison, Wisconsin 53703

By: 

Pierce County Department of Human Services

412 West Kinne Street

PO Box 670

Ellsworth, WI  54011

 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE:

 Michael D. O'Brien

 Division of Hearings and Appeals

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The petitioner (CARES # ) is a resident of Pierce County.

2. The petitioner receives a Caretaker Supplement payment on behalf of his 18-year-old child.

3. The petitioner’s child will turn 19 in April 2016.
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4. The petitioner’s child is expected to graduate from high school in May 2016.

DISCUSSION

Wisconsin implemented the Caretaker Supplement program to help SSI recipients with the financial

burden of raising their children after Wisconsin Works (W2) ended AFDC payments in 1998.  Wis. Stat.

§ 49.775. Persons on SSI could not participate in W2 because it is a work program and those on SSI, by

definition, cannot work. The Caretaker Supplement program  pays $250 per month to a “custodial parent”


for one “custodial” child and $150 per month for each additional “custodial” child to parents who receive

SSI. Wis. Stat. § 49.775(2) and (4)(a). The department seeks to end the petitioner’s supplement because


his child is 18 years old and will not graduate from high school before turning 19.

The Caretaker program used the definition of dependent child found in Wis. Stat. § 49.141(1)(c). See 

49.775(1)(b). Section 49.141(1)(c) states: “ ‘Dependent child’ means a person who resides with a parent

and who is under the age of 18 or, if the person is a full-time student at a secondary school or a vocational

or technical equivalent and is reasonably expected to complete the program before attaining the age of 19,

is under the age of 19.” The caretaker law does not provide any exceptions to the requirement that a child

must graduate before he turns 19 for those in her position. Because the petitioner’s child is neither under


18 nor expected to graduate before she turns 19, I must uphold the agency’s decision. 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The department correctly seeks to end the petitioner’s caretaker supplement payment because his


dependent child is 18 years old and not expected to graduate from high school before turning 19 years

old.

THEREFORE, it is ORDERED

The petitioner's appeal is dismissed.

REQUEST FOR A REHEARING

You may request a rehearing if you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts or the law

or if you have found new evidence that would change the decision.  Your request must be received

within 20 days after the date of this decision.  Late requests cannot be granted.

Send your request for rehearing in writing to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, 5005 University

Avenue, Suite 201, Madison, WI 53705-5400 and to those identified in this decision as "PARTIES IN

INTEREST."  Your rehearing request must explain what mistake the Administrative Law Judge made and

why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and explain why you did not have it at your

first hearing.  If your request does not explain these things, it will be denied.

The process for requesting a rehearing may be found at Wis. Stat. § 227.49.  A copy of the statutes may

be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

APPEAL TO COURT

You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live.  Appeals must be filed

with the Court and served either personally or by certified mail on the Secretary of the Department of

Health Services, 1 West Wilson Street, Room 651, Madison, Wisconsin 53703, and on those identified in

this decision as “PARTIES IN INTEREST” no more than 30 days after the date of this decision or 30

days after a denial of a timely rehearing (if you request one).
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The process for Circuit Court Appeals may be found at Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53. A copy of the

statutes may be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

  Given under my hand at the City of Madison,

Wisconsin, this 23rd day of June, 2015

  \sMichael D. O'Brien

  Administrative Law Judge

Division of Hearings and Appeals
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State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

Brian Hayes, Administrator Telephone: (608) 266-3096
Suite 201 FAX: (608) 264-9885
5005 University Avenue
Madison, WI   53705-5400

email: DHAmail@wisconsin.gov  
Internet: http://dha.state.wi.us

The preceding decision was sent to the following parties on June 23, 2015.

Pierce County Department of Human Services

Division of Health Care Access and Accountability

http://dha.state.wi.us

