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PRELIMINARY RECITALS

Pursuant to a petition filed October 28, 2015, under Wis. Admin. Code § HA 3.03(1), to review a decision
by the Racine County Department of Human Services in regard to FoodShare benefits (FS), a telephonic
hearing was held on November 24, 2015.

The issue for determination is whether the agency met its burden to show that it correctly discontinued
petitioner’s FoodShare for failing to meet Able-Bodied Adult without Dependent (ABAWD) work
requirements effective November 1, 2015.

There appeared at that time and place the following persons:

PARTIES IN INTEREST:
Petitioner:

Respondent:

Department of Health Services
1 West Wilson Street, Room 651
Madison, Wisconsin 53703
By: Madeline Rice, Lead ESS
Racine County Department of Human Services
1717 Taylor Ave
Racine, WI 53403-2497

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE:
Kelly Cochrane
Division of Hearings and Appeals

FINDINGS OF FACT
1. Petitioner (CARES # | is 2 resident of Racine County and has been a recipient of FS.
2. Petitioner was enrolled in the FoodShare Employment and Training (FSET) program in

December 2014.
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3. On October 16, 2015 the agency issued a FSET Program Referral to the petitioner. Exhibit 2. It
stated that his “Begin Month” was “October 2015”.

4. On November 3, 2015 the agency issued a notice of decision to petitioner stating that his FS
would end November 1, 2015 because he had used 3 months of time limited benefits without
meeting a work requirement during those 3 months.

DISCUSSION

Pursuant to a provision of Wisconsin’s 2007-2009 biennial budget, Wisconsin has operated a voluntary
FoodShare Employment and Training (FSET) program since 2008. The Personal Responsibility and
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA) limits the receipt of FS benefits to three full
months in a 36-month time period for Able-Bodied Adults without Dependents (ABAWDs) who do not
meet the work requirement or meet an exemption from the work requirement. As part of Wisconsin’s
2014-15 biennial budget, 2013 Wisconsin Act 20 created Wis. Stat. §49.79(10), which required FS
eligibility and work requirements for ABAWDs to be implemented in Wisconsin beginning in 2014,
consistent with federal regulations 7 CFR §273.7 and 7 CFR §273.24. On June 11, 2014 the Department
of Health Services (DHS) issued Operations Memo #14-25 which outlined Wisconsin’s policy and
instruction for applying Time-Limited FoodShare Benefits (TLBs) to ABAWDs. Operations Memo #14-
25, available online at https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/dhcaa/memos/14-25amendedv3.pdf.

Under ABAWD rules, childless, able-bodied adults must either meet ABAWD work requirements or be
exempt from the work requirement in order to receive FoodShare (FS) benefits. See FS Handbook
§3.17.1.1, available online at http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/fsh/fsh.htm. ABAWDs who are
not exempt and who do not meet the work requirement are only allowed to receive 3 full months of time-
limited benefits (TLBs) in a 36-month period. /d.

The problem with this case is that the agency representatives did not prove how a determination was
made that the petitioner did not meet the work requirements in his 3 months of TLBs. First, there was no
referral letter showing when he was referred to FSET in 2014 or what his “Begin Month” was determined
to be. There seemed to be no disagreement that he was enrolled in December 2014, however. The
agency’s testimony was that he did not meet the work requirements in November and December 2014,
and that those were his first two TLBs. It was not until November 2015 that the agency alleges he had his
third TLB. However, the referral notice of October 16, 2015 states his “Begin Month” was October 2015.
There was no explanation for what happened with October if that was to be counted as a TLB, except that
he was completing all of his ResCare and Job Search activities until November. The FSET representative
explained that the FSET agency could not provide him with services in November 2015 however, because
he was FS ineligible. The FS agency representative could not explain why he was FS ineligible for
November.

In a hearing such as this for FS, it is a well-established principle that a moving party generally has the
burden of proof, especially in administrative proceedings. State v. Hanson, 295 N.W.2d 209, 98 Wis. 2d 80
(Wis. App. 1980). The court in Hanson stated that the policy behind this principle is to assign the burden to
the party seeking to change a present state of affairs. In other words, the agency must show why it
determined that petitioner’s FS should end November 1, 2015. The contradictory and scant evidence
presented does not allow me to find that it met its burden. I am not, therefore, sustaining the case closure
and it must be reversed.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. That the agency has not met its burden to show it correctly sanctioned petitioner for failing to meeting
a work requirement.
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2. That the November 1, 2015 case closure must be removed and petitioner’s FS reinstated.

THEREFORE, it is ORDERED

That the matter is remanded to the county agency with instructions to take the administrative steps
necessary to reverse the November 1, 2015 closure of Petitioner’s FoodShare case for failing to meet
ADAWD work requirements in 3 TLBs. This shall be done within ten (10) days of the date of this
Decision.

REQUEST FOR A REHEARING

You may request a rehearing if you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts or the law
or if you have found new evidence that would change the decision. Your request must be received
within 20 days after the date of this decision. Late requests cannot be granted.

Send your request for rehearing in writing to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, 5005 University
Avenue, Suite 201, Madison, WI 53705-5400 and to those identified in this decision as "PARTIES IN
INTEREST." Your rehearing request must explain what mistake the Administrative Law Judge made and
why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and explain why you did not have it at your
first hearing. If your request does not explain these things, it will be denied.

The process for requesting a rehearing may be found at Wis. Stat. § 227.49. A copy of the statutes may
be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

APPEAL TO COURT

You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live. Appeals must be filed
with the Court and served either personally or by certified mail on the Secretary of the Department of
Health Services, 1 West Wilson Street, Room 651, Madison, Wisconsin 53703, and on those identified in
this decision as “PARTIES IN INTEREST” no more than 30 days after the date of this decision or 30
days after a denial of a timely rehearing (if you request one).

The process for Circuit Court Appeals may be found at Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53. A copy of the

statutes may be found online or at your local library or courthouse.

Given under my hand at the City of Milwaukee,
Wisconsin, this 30th day of November, 2015

\sKelly Cochrane
Administrative Law Judge
Division of Hearings and Appeals
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State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

Brian Hayes, Administrator Telephone: (608) 266-3096
Suite 201 FAX: (608) 264-9885
5005 University Avenue email: DHAmail@wisconsin.gov
Madison, WI 53705-5400 Internet: http://dha.state.wi.us

The preceding decision was sent to the following parties on November 30, 2015.

Racine County Department of Human Services
Division of Health Care Access and Accountability


http://dha.state.wi.us

